Skip to content

Compression

2016-10-13T21:16:59+00:00

I feel myself squeezed by the constraints of my current assignment. I like the work, and I like some of the people, but I despise the organization, its culture, and its “values”. They treat workers like disposable cogs; they squeeze every drop of effort out of them that they can, until the worker quits. Most of my comrades are at the edge of quitting. I am looking for some other assignment as well. I can work other places, where I can get paid more for less stress.

Meanwhile, the season grows cooler in the jungle. Soon we will be able to work outside for an entire day without leaching away every drop of moisture in our bodies. This is a good thing, for the jungle is ever-encroaching. It must be hacked back, vigorously and relentlessly, lest it take over everything.

Comments are closed.