Skip to content

It’s hard to watch someone else not breathing

2016-04-11T21:08:42+00:00

A relative is deathly ill. Her body, though young, is not well adapted to this planet, and she is suffering from several maladies, some permanent, some temporary. It’s the temporary ones that are threatening to kill her.

I can do nothing for her, because I am far away. And her maladies leave her unable to speak, because she is unable to breathe. So we communicate electronically. She appreciates that I check in on her frequently. I tell her it’s because if she doesn’t respond, I am calling the mechanics to break down her door and resuscitate her. She would laugh, except she can’t.

I am worried about her. It’s hard to know someone else is having a difficult time breathing. It’s because I know what it’s like, that I feel so keenly for her.

Hopefully she will be better tomorrow.

Comments are closed.