Skip to content

The X-Files reboot

2016-03-11T05:47:30+00:00

It was interesting to watch the 10th season of “The X-Files”, which is also called “The X-Files Reboot”. Agents Mulder and Scully are back together again, 20 years later. And they’re older. Other than that, the series is pretty much identical to the old series. Same titles, same captions, same music, same style of cinematography and writing. It’s comfortable. A little campier, a little bit preachier (liberal preaching, of course… the environment, the homeless, the usual). Barely tolerable because of that.

I haven’t watched all of it. It’s more interesting for little isolated bits, not so much the whole arc of the series. Cigarette Smoking Man is still alive, still evil, but ancient and smoking a cigarette through a tracheotomy hole in his throat. Agent Scully, always the skeptic, now has a UFO “I Want To Believe” poster of her own.

It’s the same, yet different. I think it’s just because everyone’s so much older. Also, some of the episodes feel like they are the scripts that got cut from the original series because they weren’t good enough. The new faint edge of campiness is both fun and irritating. The original series had some gravitas, some scariness about it. This one, not so much.

Will the reboot spark enough audience interest to continue the series? I don’t know. I must admit, I don’t really care. But I don’t care about any television anymore. It’s a nice diversion, and I like to comment on it now and then, but none of it matters. Because as soon as you start to like a show, the network will cancel it. That’s the rule. So I just don’t bother to like a show anymore. They still get canceled, but it doesn’t matter to me. I think this planet would be better off without television. And for me, it mostly doesn’t exist. Like a billboard on the highway, you see it for a second, and then it’s gone and forgotten. You don’t miss it, you don’t go back to look at it again. It was just an object noted in passing.

It was pleasant to see “The X Files” reboot, though. Maybe I’ll finish watching it someday.

Comments are closed.