Skip to content

She didn’t scream, again

2015-11-11T09:14:42+00:00

Earlier this year, I held a larva I know. She usually screams when I hold her, and she tries to avoid me when I come near. But that time earlier this year, she didn’t scream.

Last night I saw her again. I didn’t bother to try to hold her, and I didn’t try to be near her. But she showed less fear of me. She actually sat next to me. That’s a good thing, I suppose. She relates much better to darling wife, and that’s enough for me, because the larva matters to my darling wife, whereas the larva doesn’t really matter to me. It’s just a larva. Whether she likes me or not is immaterial.

Together, we watched other larva scurry about on a baseball field. Adult volunteer coaches threw baseballs at them from a pitching machine, while the larvae tried to avoid getting hit. It seemed like a loving, patient form of abuse. Practice like this will help them with their eye-tentacle coordination in the long run, and it may even turn one or two of them into decent baseball players.

Based on what I saw last night, though, it will take a long time.

Comments are closed.