Skip to content

Family is an excuse to treat people badly, part 2

2015-10-07T11:13:21+00:00

I am watching a friend be treated badly by her family. It is only a family by marriage, but still. They don’t understand etiquette, while she does, and she enforces it. This displeases them, so they’re not talking to her.

I’m not sure whether this bothers her or not. I think it does. I know it does not bother me. Communication is an effort, and I’m not very good at it. So if someone gives me the silent treatment, I seldom notice. If I do notice, I ignore it. Eventually they either relent and start talking again, or they go away. Either way, it’s their problem, not mine.

I think my friend will discover that life is more pleasant without unpleasant family trying to inflict pain on her. The silent treatment works to her advantage, in my opinion.

We’ll see if she agrees.

3 Comments
  1. Sweety Pie permalink
    2015-10-08T11:27:37+00:00 11:27

    You don’t have to have family to be stupid.

    Like

    • 2015-10-08T12:25:06+00:00 12:25

      True enough. I just observe that people seem to put up with stupid or obnoxious behavior from family members, simply because they are family. I don’t understand that. Most people seem to hold friends to a higher standard of behavior than they do family, and I think that’s a mistake.

      Like

      • Sweetie pie permalink
        2015-10-12T18:20:28+00:00 18:20

        I was referring to the stupid person. Kind of like that joke that goes something like: A man hears on the radio that there is an idiot driving on the wrong side of the road, and he says:”There are a lot more than just one!”. Everyone is stupid to that one stupid person. No one wins… :)

        Like

Comments are closed.