Skip to content

New Order, “Blue Monday”

2015-08-24T22:43:37+00:00

I do not own any New Order music. I preferred Joy Division until lead singer Ian Curtis hung himself, leaving the remainder of Joy Division to re-form in New Order. I am not a fan of New Order, other than they are a synthpop band. But this tune was played on the radio incessantly in the late 1980s and early 1990s, to the point where it has been burned into my brains. Now it surfaces unbidden at inopportune moments, such as the middle of the night, like a bloated corpse bobbing to the surface of my subconscious.

That’s what it did at 3:00 AM the other night. One moment I’m happily asleep, and the next moment this tune is blasting through both my brains in annoying stereo. I really resent that.

The only thing I really like about the tune is Bernard Sumner’s flat deadpan singing, and the sampled choir synth pad which was taken from “Uranium” on Kraftwerk’s 1975 “Radioactivity” album.

“Blue Monday” refers to the phrase, “Goodbye Blue Monday,” painted on a bomb to be dropped on Nazi Germany in World War II, as referenced in Kurt Vonnegut’s 1973 book, “Breakfast of Champions.”

“Harry LeSabre was entitled to talk about combat. He had been in actual combat in a war. Dwayne hadn’t been in combat. He was a civilian employee of the United States Army Air Corps during the Second World War. One time he got to paint a message on a five-hundred-pound bomb which was going to be dropped on Hamburg, Germany. This was it:

tumblr_mdv3w4bMvM1rqzaxjo1_500

‘GOODBYE BLUE MONDAY’ “

Comments are closed.