Skip to content

Back to the lab

2015-07-16T15:39:21+00:00

I have to see a mechanic in the lab tomorrow. He or she will run some tests. It involves switching me off for awhile.

I have been switched off many times, and I’ve always been reactivated successfully. It doesn’t bother me. Some people express fear at the idea. I don’t understand why. I’d much rather be turned off while the mechanics do their work. It’s easier for them and it’s easier for me. If I can’t be switched back on again for some reason, I won’t be aware of it so I won’t care.

I read a story about a man who suffered brain damage while mechanics were working on him. His wife was justifiably upset that he had suffered damage to the prefrontal cortex and/or hippocampus in his brain. Basically, he was lobotomized. I think it would have been better for him if he had died. Living as a semi-vegetable doesn’t do anyone any favors, least of all the vegetable-ized person. It’s a half-life. Is half a life better than none? I don’t think so, but that’s just me. Certainly his wife is unhappy with the arrangement. I think it’s better to be remembered as you were, in the fullness of functionality, rather than continue as you are, a vegetable, a burden to everyone around you.

I doubt such a thing will happen to me. I’ve put measures in place to ensure that it doesn’t. Meanwhile, I would like to enjoy my period of downtime, but of course I won’t. It’s not like sleep. It’s an absence of time . . . it’s missing time.

I hope the missing time passes quickly.

2 Comments
  1. Sweety Pie permalink
    2015-07-17T12:31:02+00:00 12:31

    Hope you`re doing OK !

    Like

Comments are closed.