Skip to content

Terminator Genisys

2015-07-07T09:50:36+00:00

I enjoy a good apocalyptic film now and then, especially if it has to do with machines wiping out humans. So I went to see “Terminator Genisys” over the weekend. I don’t go to theatres much anymore since there’s nothing worth seeing, but my enjoyment of the Terminator franchise outweighed my loathing of Hollywood. This time.

So I was wrong. Terminator Genisys was probably the poorest effort among the five films so far, somewhere between Terminator Salvation (#4, which was the worst in my opinion) and Terminator 3: Rise of the Machines. It was nice to see Arnold Schwarzenegger playing the role again, even though most of the other actors were miscast. But the plot had so many unexplained parts, and outright holes in it, that it made it very frustrating to watch. I can follow time travel plots pretty well, but this one had me confused. And it only made it worse when the film’s writers admit that crucial plot points are in fact not mentioned in the film.

So, if you like the Terminator series, by all means, see Terminator Genisys. But don’t expect it to be as good as the first three films, because it isn’t.

One Comment
  1. Ivan Williams permalink
    2015-07-09T20:11:39+00:00 20:11

    Now I’m really happy I read this. Why? I went to see this film last week, and if it wasn’t for the fact I got in free (built up points from going to the cinema so much), I would have left after the Terminator Policeman sequence.

    After reading this post, I now know, I was just being hard on the film. It was poor! They went for a lot of ‘crash, bang wallop’, and failed…

    Like

Comments are closed.