Skip to content

I always carry a weapon in church

2015-06-18T15:55:38+00:00

I always carry a weapon in church. Well, not really, because I don’t go to any church regularly. But while I’m stationed here on this planet, I always carry weapons everywhere I go. Even to church, when I accompany friends. You never know when you’re going to need a weapon. Church is no different than a mall or a school or a grocery store or an office. In any place where people gather, it’s best to have a weapon. Why? Because to rely on the kindness of others is to court disaster, as worshipers at the Emanuel African Methodist Episcopal (AME) Church in Charleston, South Carolina, found out yesterday. Dylann Roof is accused of entering the church, sitting in a prayer group for an hour, before standing up and shooting nine people to death.

Why did he do it? No one knows yet. But apparently none of the churchgoers that night had a weapon with which to oppose him. And that’s foolhardy. People at the New Life Church in Colorado Springs can tell you that, where Matthew Murray shot five people, killing two, before being shot by Jeanne Assam, a church member acting as a volunteer security guard. Wounded by Assam’s fire, Murray then shot himself to death. Assam, a lone woman with a weapon, saved the lives of hundreds of fellow churchgoers that day.

It’s very sad that nine people were murdered in a church in Charleston yesterday. But quite possibly none of them would have died, if just one of those present had had a weapon. Democrats, of course, hate black people, which is why Democrats promote gun control and abortion and welfare, which all affect blacks much more than any other race. And many Democrats are now calling for even more gun control, using the still-warm corpses of the Emanuel AME churchgoers as a sick political piñata. Never mind that criminals don’t obey gun laws, and they still get guns and they still kill people with them. Just ask people in countries with strict gun control, like England. Or Australia.

I’m not one to rely on the kindness of others. And if I encounter deadly malice from others, I can kill them with my weapon before they kill me. My life is worth much more than their life.

Is yours?

4 Comments
  1. Sweety Pie permalink
    2015-06-18T18:25:47+00:00 18:25

    How does one measure their life against another’s?

    Like

    • 2015-06-19T10:10:05+00:00 10:10

      You are so nice to stop by! It’s easy to measure your life against another’s. If someone is threatening your life, you have a responsibility to defend yourself, lethally if needed. If you don’t, then it’s basically suicide (if they kill you and you do not resist). If a loved one is trying to kill you, there may be a moment’s indecision, but I would argue that it’s better to respond lethally and to regret it later, than to have compassion and then be killed for it.

      Like

      • Sweetie pie permalink
        2015-06-21T09:45:23+00:00 09:45

        I guess I probably don’t get it because I’m Canadian. I’ve never felt attacked and probably never will. Does that make my life worth more than someone whose life caused them to experience life differently? Why does someone feel like someone else is constantly going to attack them? Why does someone feel they have to carry a gun? Some people would think that it is very sad to have to carry a gun and feel scared everywhere they go and feel like they are a constant target. That must be draining… Is someone worthier because they carry a gun and others don’t? Is someone worthier because they could potentially save lives? What if these lives did not want to be saved? This could go so many different ways…
        If someone lives extremely bad things in their life, which causes their perception of life to diverge from my perception, and they end up doing things I would not do because i did not live or perceive life situations like they did, then how am I worthier? I did not live what they lived – therefore I can not think like they do or possibly think even worse had i lived what they did.
        Am I not just where I am and aren’t they just where they are? Not to excuse what happened, but under extreme pressure, I honestly do not know what I would be capable of once the momentum of life caused feelings and thoughts to go in one direction rather than another. Therefore I can’t judge or measure someone’s life and thoughts to be better or worse than mine. I am where and who I am and what I choose to do is because believe it will make me feel and live better. They are probably the same, just at a different feeling atate. A feeling of contentment in life does not get you to the same place as if you are feeling hopelessness, fear or revenge.
        My 2 cents…

        Like

      • 2015-06-22T17:11:27+00:00 17:11

        Mmm it’s just like buying insurance. Why do you buy insurance? You hope nothing bad will happen, but if it does, you’re covered. It gives you peace of mind. That’s what a weapon does. You hope you won’t need it, but if you do, you’ll have it. If someone threatens you or attacks you, it’s irrelevant what their motivations are or their history is. All that matters is that you can protect yourself if you need to.

        Like

Comments are closed.