Skip to content

I will believe it when I see it

2014-10-29T06:55:46+00:00

My current project is an odd one, with a number of “firsts” for me. I’ve been doing this kind of work for decades, so it’s interesting to see some of these things for the first time.

  • First time the implementation team has not been allowed on the customer’s network
  • First time the customer vacillates between decisions for months, stopping progress on the project
  • First time there seems to be an unending bucket of hours for us to sit around and do nothing because the customer doesn’t make decisions
  • First time there is an unending stream of people quitting the customer’s company, mostly because of their toxic Northeastern corporate culture (hateful and backstabby)
  • First time the implementation team has been assigned to work in “hoteling” office space without meeting rooms or access to a copier or a printer (phones became obsolete long ago so their absence doesn’t matter)
  • First time the project relies on data feeds from other systems, and the people running those systems are not forced to work with us or to help us in any way, impeding progress on the project

All of this had made me more cynical than usual, regarding this project. So when the customer tells us that they’re going to move us to a better office space on a different floor, allegedly with access to their network, a copier/printer, and space to actually have meetings with more than three people, I am dubious.

I will believe it when I see it.

 

Comments are closed.