Skip to content

The brightest lightning flash ever

2014-10-23T07:02:55+00:00

It was a gloomy, rainy night as I drove home from dinner. The clouds were low, phasing into contact with the ground as fog, and the main body of the cloud layer was only 100 meters up. The whole sky, from horizon to horizon, was hidden by a thick layer of cloud.

Then it turned into a thunderstorm. The whole world lit up with blinding bright light, so bright that it was like being inside a white ping-pong ball. I could not see anything outside the car windows. It lasted for a millisecond, and then the dark rain returned. The thunder came a few seconds later, indicating that the lightning bolt itself was about a kilometer above me. It had lit the entire cloud layer below it, which turned my world white.

It did that three more times before I got home. Each time, the white light was so blinding that it completely surrounded me and blotted out everything else as if it didn’t even exist.

I have never seen lightning like that before. It was beautiful. I hope I get to see it again someday, but I know the meteorological conditions will have to be just right.

One Comment
  1. Sweety Pie permalink
    2014-10-23T18:47:45+00:00 18:47

    So will your emplacement.

    Like

Comments are closed.