Skip to content

Dear Algebra, stop asking us to find your x. She’s not coming back.

2014-10-13T08:52:33+00:00

I was talking with an acquaintance whose wife had left him and gotten her own apartment and a new boyfriend. I asked how his plans were proceeding to win her back.

“Fine,” he shrugged, indicating it wasn’t. “She said she needs more time. I said, ‘what, like until Sunday?'”

I can see that she’s not coming back. And with his attitude, I can’t blame her. He just wants her back to fill the role that she used to fill: taking care of the children while he plays with his toys and his friends. He hasn’t learned much, if anything, from her leaving him.

I didn’t tell him that, of course. He needs to figure it out on his own. Telling him outright will just annoy him and make him resent me. It’s not worth the trouble.

2 Comments
  1. Sweety Pie permalink
    2014-10-15T12:17:02+00:00 12:17

    Sounds like he needs to go back and live with mommy.

    Like

    • 2014-10-15T12:27:10+00:00 12:27

      LOL that would be interesting because she’s dead. Then it would be like “Psycho.” Hm. Appropriate.

      Like

Comments are closed.