Skip to content

I was disappointed in Scotland’s vote to stay in the United Kingdom

2014-10-01T15:03:57+00:00

I meant to say, while it was going on, that I was cheering for Scotland to secede from the United Kingdom. Why? Simply because they could. Britain invaded and annexed Scotland in a series of battles and murders of Scotland’s royalty between roughly 943 and 1707, and the last serious challenge to British rule of Scotland ended in the Scottish Jacobites’ massacre by British artillery at the Battle of Culloden in 1746.

The very concept of a modern state seceding from another state without violence is amazing to me. That’s why I wanted to see it.

Could Scotland survive with its own currency, independent of the British pound? Probably not. Could Scotland survive with its aging population deprived of its government welfare payments from Britain? Probably not.

But it would have been interesting to find out.

Comments are closed.