Skip to content

A relationship of convenience

2014-09-17T10:02:34+00:00

A younger relative (different clone batch) is suffering through a separation and eventual divorce from his partner. He caused the separation with his ugly behavior, I think, but that’s not the issue. The issue is that, in the absence of his original partner, he has taken up with another. This new one is warm, pleasant, intelligent, and much easier to be around than the original.

I heard through backchannels that said relative is missing his original partner and wants her back. This is disappointing, because I find the replacement preferable to the original. It also indicates that said relative is merely using the replacement as a relationship of convenience. Which would be fine, if the replacement knows that. I’m not sure that she does. Plus, the very concept of a relationship of convenience (or “friends with benefits”) is repulsive to me. It’s difficult for me to be around people as it is. I can’t imagine choosing to be around someone, especially engaging in sex with them, merely because I didn’t want to be alone. Then again, I can’t imagine not liking solitude.

In the end, it’s not my problem. I don’t have to interact with either of relative’s partners if I don’t want to.

But if I have to, I have my preferences as to which.

Comments are closed.