Skip to content

Deepest darkest Indianapolis

2014-04-23T07:05:32+00:00

I am working in Indianapolis this week. Interestingly, when I worked here before, I had always worked in the lily-white suburbs. Now I am working downtown. And my hotel is a fenced-off security zone in, shall we say, a less-than-desirable neighborhood.

Years ago, when the liberal talking-point of the day was “food desert,” I had no idea what they meant. Liberals said there were large swaths of inner cities where no food was available. Reasonable people pointed out that all the food retail establishments had fled because of the crime, and so the talking-point was dropped. But I figured they had made most of it up. Until I discovered an actual food desert where my hotel is located.

I had to travel to the interstate beltway, a distance of perhaps 10 km , to find a grocery store in a neighborhood that looked safe to me. Between my hotel and that grocery store, there was a burned-out war zone of abandoned buildings, including what had once been several grocery stores or food shops. The few remaining businesses that were operating were liquor stores, pawn shops, and car repair/chop shops.

Now I know what a food desert looks like. Interestingly, it looks like inner-city blight, which affects many large cities. So food deserts always been there, it’s just the term “food desert” that’s new.

I am looking forward to this job being over.

 

Comments are closed.