Skip to content

I’m uninstalling all Mozilla products

2014-04-07T08:49:11+00:00

The board of Mozilla.org (maker of the Firefox web browser and various lesser-known products) recently appointed Brendan Eich, inventor of JavaScript programming language, to be its CEO. Eleven days later, after it became known that Eich had donated $1000 in support of California Proposition 8 six years ago (which banned gay marriage in the state), the board forced him out.

I thought that was very interesting, since the Mozilla Foundation describes itself as “a non-profit organization that sponsors the Mozilla project and devotes its resources to promoting openness, innovation and opportunity on the Internet.” Apparently that doesn’t extend to free speech or differing opinions about something so monumentally, earth-shatteringly important as gay marriage. (And since sarcasm does not translate well, I think that the issue of gay marriage ranks somewhere below which is the best brand of paper towel. Gay people can play at being married, but marriage is indeed between a man and a woman. Hijacking the law and aping the ceremony does not make it real, any more than a cross-dresser is truly transgender. It’s silly.)

I supported Proposition 8, which passed in a democratic vote of the people of California. I donated money to it, too. Mozilla, what are you going to do to me in retaliation? You will do absolutely nothing. Because you have no leverage over me. I, however, have leverage over you. For many years, I have used Mozilla products because I appreciate the idea of a free and open Internet, supported by volunteers. I have recommended Mozilla products to many of my customers. But now that gay fascism is on the march at Mozilla, stomping anyone who dares to disagree with homosexual orthodoxy, I will no longer be a Mozilla supporter or user.

Mozilla declared war on one man’s opinion (still shared by a majority of the nation, despite liberal cries to the contrary) that marriage is between one man and one woman, an opinion which even militant gay activists must admit that he never espoused in any way, save that $1000 donation in 2008. In declaring war on one man’s opinion, Mozilla declared war on everyone who has ideas that do not agree with whatever Mozilla decrees is acceptable at the moment.

Mozilla’s practice of gay fascism is not acceptable. Mozilla, you are no longer welcome in my home, at my business, on any of my devices. To my customers, I will no longer recommend your products.

You brought this on yourselves, Mozilla.

Comments are closed.