Skip to content

Randomness

2014-03-04T23:09:03+00:00

It’s been a breathless month or so. As in, I have been so busy, I don’t have time to breathe. Half the time, I forget to breathe anyway, so it’s not such a big deal. But this mission log has suffered as a result.

  • I was disappointed yet again when Muslim terrorists failed to attack the Academy Awards ceremony this year. That would make the Oscars worth watching. But alas, the Muslim terrorists were busy stabbing hundreds of people in a train station in Kunming, China. As well as being occupied by massacring hundreds of Christians in Nigeria, including the most recent slaughters in Maiduguri and Mainok. It’s tough to be everywhere at once, I understand that. But I do hope they move the Oscars up on their hit list. There’s always next year.
  • An acquaintance was summoned to court. It seems someone with the same name reported (or was involved in) a car crash. A process server sought the person who reported it, only to be unable to find him. Instead, the process server looked up other people with the same name in the telephone book, and served the first one he found. Now my acquaintance is being forced to appear in court for a case in which he has no involvement other than being the victim of a lazy process server. After the case is over, he is planning to sue both the process server and the process server’s employer. I wholeheartedly agree. Although I think it would be simpler (and more satisfying) to hire Muslim terrorists to pay them a visit.
  • I brought my Xbox with me on the road to finish playing Medal Of Honor: Airborne at night. I have nearly finished playing it through on Expert level, practicing headshots on German soldiers. Unfortunately the televisions in my hotel are rigged to ignore external input, to prevent theft of the televisions, or so the ladies at the front desk tell me. Many hotels don’t go to such trouble. But this is downtown Denver, and the average hotel guest (or visitor) is much more likely to be of the criminal sort. Today the hotel elevator reeked of marijuana, which turns my stomachs. I am beginning to detest Denver in general and the people in particular. I heartily recommend that you avoid this place. Its heyday was in the 1890s to 1910s… it has gone downhill since then, especially in the last decade. There are much better, safer, and less drug-addled places to visit.
  • My project has entered its “chaos” phase. It is much worse here than on other projects, at least in recent memory. This customer is very picky, and the implementing consultant group is exceedingly sensitive to criticism. Therefore we receive a change in orders at least twice a week now, and sometimes every day. I am insulated from most of the chaos, but now I am keeping all my eyes fixed on the target roll-off date in April. Meanwhile I will remind myself that I get paid the same regardless of the constantly-changing directives.
  • We finished hacking another large segment of jungle down to form a firebreak behind our home. We have been stymied in removing one section because a hidden hive of bees objected strenuously to our efforts. Only a squad of bees attacked us, not the whole hive, so we think they are not Africanized. If they are not Africanized, smoke may lull them into docility. But most bees are Africanized now to some degree, and smoke no longer deters them. So we are working to locate an apiarist to come and remove them without killing them. The “without killing them” is darling wife’s stipulation. I don’t care much if they are killed or not, but I need them to be gone so we can continue our work without being stung.
  • We sold many tools that we no longer need. The rest, we donated. I now have much more space in my office. We rearranged it, and consolidated our ammunition stores. We were both surprised  at the quantity we had collected. Some of it I sold to a neighbor, since he has weapons that use it, while I no longer do. The rest, we organized very prettily, by caliber and by date of manufacture.
  • I took some female friends out shooting the other weekend. I had given up on one because she is a terrible shot (she is left-eye dominant but right-handed, which is a bad combination for accuracy), and the other one was an unknown quantity, having just received her concealed permit. We were surprised to see that all of us had brought the same make and model of weapon. We all practiced, and they did much better than I expected, especially the one I had given up on. I was proud of them. There were many females at the range that day, some as young as 12. I was pleased to see that. Firearms are the great equalizer for females, especially against violent males. As more females own and use firearms, fewer males will dare to commit violent crimes against them, and fewer still will survive the attempt.

Comments are closed.