Skip to content

Worst Super Bowl ever

2014-02-05T07:59:43+00:00

I forgot to mention, I watched the Super Bowl to its bitter, bitter end. I really wanted to turn it off by the end of the first quarter, the Denver Broncos were playing so ridiculously badly. But I couldn’t turn it off and go to bed: I was hosting a party, and it’s rude to abandon your guests and tell them to turn off the lights when they leave.

So I watched the whole debacle. It was excruciating.

Peyton Manning, the Broncos’ quarterback, said at a press conference later that to call the Broncos’ performance “embarrassing” was an insult. Fine. Be insulted. It WAS embarrassing. It was like watching a Little League game. I have never seen the Broncos commit so many fumbles and interceptions, and I’ve been watching them for decades. And for the Broncos to commit a safety 12 seconds into the game was absolutely mind-bending. I had never seen a safety (a 2-point score by the opposing team when a ball-carrier is tackled in his own endzone). I had to have someone explain it to me.

It was awful. And to think that I postponed travel plans specifically to watch the game. That’s the last time I do that.

Ridiculous. That’s the Broncos’ performance, in a word.

Oh well, there’s always next year.

But I probably won’t be watching.

Comments are closed.