Skip to content

Five years of hate from the “No H8” crowd

2014-01-16T06:52:05+00:00

I remember when Proposition 8 was passed by a majority democratic vote of the Californian people. It banned gay marriage in the state. This prompted the gay lobby to mount a vicious, vitriolic, vindictive, and violent campaign of hate and intimidation against people who supported Proposition 8. I thought it was ironic, if frightening, that such a campaign against democracy could happen in a democratic society.

I understood people’s support for Proposition 8. Gay people are free to do as they please in a free society. But if the state sanctions gay marriage, that implies the support of a majority of the people, and that is untrue in most states where gay marriage is legal (because it is usually passed by judicial or legislative fiat, by a single judge or a small group of legislators, not by a majority vote of the people). Similarly, I do not support it. If my state chose to sanction it, I still would not support it, and I would not cooperate with “No H8″ers’ efforts to coerce, extort or intimidate cooperation from me. It is still largely a free society, and thought and speech are still allegedly free (except in Colorado). I do not care what gay people do as long as they leave me out of it. But if they choose to make it an issue with me, then I will be on the opposite side of the issue, as is my right.

Liberal celebrities and politicians were no less guilty of spewing hate in their campaign against “H8” (Proposition 8 and people who supported it). Thousands of them posed with duct tape over their mouths (a claim that they were being silenced, when the quite the opposite was true) for a series of photographs. They also used the willingly-compliant media to spread their message of hate against the “haters”.

Somehow I missed the five year anniversary of their “No H8” hate. None of it will matter anymore, though, when the Martian Empire steers an asteroid into Los Angeles. I’m not privy to their schedule, but I do hope it will be soon, because I think it would improve the level of political discourse in the United States, clean up television, and provide pretty sunsets for years (from the dust cloud arising from where Los Angeles used to be).

I remember a “gusher” acquaintance (a “gusher” is someone who behaves as if you are much closer friends than you actually are) who was all smiles and friendly and caring, until she brought up the No H8 campaign in a conversation. She was a big supporter of No H8’s hate. I said nothing against the campaign (freedom of speech protects their opinion, just not their violence)  but she correctly interpreted my lack of enthusiasm for No H8 as opposition to it. Suddenly we were no longer “friends.” I was relieved because her “gusher” behavior made me uncomfortable.

I think her “gusher” behavior and the behavior of the “No H8″ers is similar. Misplaced passion/enthusiasm displayed in socially-inappropriate ways.

Comments are closed.