Skip to content

An unexpected question

2014-01-16T21:27:51+00:00

A fellow agent asked me, apropos of nothing, about one of my ancestors. His question took me aback, because I did not remember ever telling him about that ancestor, or the fact that we have not spoken for decades, even though it is presumably still alive somewhere. Apparently my fellow agent and I have had some personally-revealing discussions at some point in the past.

I gave my fellow agent an update, which basically was “no change.” He seemed sad to hear that. I wasn’t.

His question did remind me that a sibling reached out to contact another ancestor last year, one that neither of us have talked to in decades. That meeting went rather well, said sibling, although that ancestor is exceedingly ancient and is very frail. Its mental faculties are failing. Sibling said it was sad to witness.

Sibling asked if I wanted to talk with the ancient ancestor before it dies. I politely declined. Any relationship with that ancestor died a long time ago, so there is no real purpose in communicating with the ancestor now. A meeting certainly won’t do me any good, and I really don’t care if a meeting would do the ancestor good. It probably wouldn’t remember it the next day anyway. If there is an afterlife, I’m sure we’ll reconnect there and have a good laugh about it all.

But not here, and not now. Places to go, things to do.

Comments are closed.