Skip to content

“Saving Mr. Banks” worth the ticket

2014-01-12T10:58:48+00:00

We saw “Saving Mr. Banks” the other day. I had no idea what it was about, but darling wife loves the movie “Mary Poppins,” and I figured out that “Saving Mr. Banks” is about how the movie “Mary Poppins” came to be made.

I normally don’t see movies with Tom Hanks in it because he’s such a liberal, despite his respect for military veterans and his good work in “Saving Private Ryan.” But the fact that the best actress on this planet, Emma Thompson, was in “Saving Mr. Banks” convinced me to see the movie.

I was not disappointed. In fact, I enjoyed it. It’s a good glimpse into the minds of Walt Disney and the author of “Mary Poppins,” P.L. Travers, and how they slugged it out until the movie came into being. Disney had a vision which the perpetually-unhappy Travers did not share, but it’s interesting to see how they worked it out (to Disney’s satisfaction, less so to Travers’ satisfaction).

It’s worth the price of a movie ticket.

One Comment
  1. 2014-01-12T21:43:42+00:00 21:43

    Oh I am glad you liked this movie, because just before I sat down at my computer we had decided to see this one tomorrow night ! Now I am really looking forward to it!

    Like

Comments are closed.