Skip to content

Experiments in percolation

2013-11-12T11:00:56+00:00

I acquired a 1950s aluminum-and-Pyrex coffee percolator for a few pennies at the thrift store. I had never seen one up close, other than in black-and-white television commercials.

I like the percolator principle because, unlike automatic drip coffeemakers, you can recirculate the already-brewed coffee back through the coffee grounds, which should make the resulting coffee stronger. Some say it actually makes it weaker, but I think they are on the payroll of the automatic-drip-machine manufacturers.

I also like it because you can make the coffee as hot as you want. Apparently this is hot enough to shatter my ceramic coffee cup, as it did this morning.

I will have to switch to a Pyrex laboratory beaker for my coffee cup. Experience has shown that those are difficult to break.

Comments are closed.