Skip to content

Not going to buy Call Of Duty: Ghosts

2013-11-01T06:00:24+00:00

The next chapter of the popular videogame series Call Of Duty will be released next week. It looks interesting.

The dog dies at the end, I think. [Oops, spoiler.] So it’s a post-apocalyptic “Old Yeller” with guns. Hooray. I’ll buy it anyway just because the COD series generally does a very good job with single-player campaign stories.

But I will have to wait til next year sometime to buy COD: Ghosts. Partly because I only buy used games, which are much less expensive. But more importantly, I don’t seem to be able to play those kinds of games anymore without triggering night terror episodes. The episodes don’t bother me because I am mostly unaware of them, but they seriously annoy darling wife. I’ve always had them, but they happen much more frequently when I play videogames.

I may have to quit playing videogames entirely, because even driving games or puzzle games seem to trigger episodes now, not just the violent first-person shooter (FPS) games. Perhaps it’s not the game content that’s the problem, but the act of playing a videogame in itself; energy spent focusing intently on detailed visual input and fine-motor response without gross-motor physical movement of the body. The process seems to build up toxins quickly in my brains, which then trigger the episodes during sleep. If I exercise briskly before sleep, or if I allow an interval of more than four hours between playing a game and going to sleep, the incidence of episodes decreases markedly, probably through the dispersal of said toxins.

Perhaps, like skydiving or long-distance driving, videogames are just one of those things that you have to stop doing after a certain point. It’s just too detrimental to your health. At least it seems to be detrimental to my health.

Comments are closed.