Skip to content

I do not want what I’ve got

2013-09-10T06:18:52+00:00

One thing I learned decades ago is that material things do not make you happy. They add comfort, to a point, but they do not represent or facilitate happiness. More often, they’re a burden. So I stopped buying things, mostly, unless they’re antiques.

But forced as I am to use local technology for transportation, I had been wanting a truck. I used to drive one, and I enjoyed its size and intimidation factor on the road. The more beat-up it got, the better I liked it. Dents and bullet holes seem to facilitate your ability to negotiate heavy traffic. People seem to magically melt out of the way when they see you coming.

I have a truck this week, as a rental car, which is unusual. I chose it on purpose, because it was the same price as all the other cars, and most of the other cars were Chryslers. I won’t drive Chrysler products because they tend to break down on me, and I detest unreliable machinery. So the truck was really the only choice.

The truck is a big one, a four-door pickup. It sits high and it rides very smoothly for a truck. But as I drive it, I am realizing that it isn’t for me anymore. It’s too big. It’s too tall. And despite recent improvements in fuel efficiency, its gas mileage is pathetic compared to the vehicles I usually drive. As I herd it down the road, I feel uncomfortable in it. It’s a nice truck. It’s just not for me anymore.

It’s a strange feeling to realize that the vehicle you thought you wanted, isn’t what you want after all.

 

 

 

4 Comments
  1. Sweetie Pie permalink
    2013-09-17T07:16:58+00:00 07:16

    I think I want a Subaru Outback for my next ride. I see only 2 strikes so far. I don’t have a dealership in my city so maintenance and care would always be 30 minutes away, and I find Subaru’s rust well before their time. Maybe they changed with the years… My Corolla should last me another 4-5 years, but every since I got rear ended, I am itchy to change…

    Like

    • 2013-09-17T11:38:46+00:00 11:38

      Right, you live where they use salt. Subarus rust no matter what, sadly. Just keep washing the undercarriage, I guess. But good choice. Your Corolla should last to 250,000 km or more if you take care of it, but you’re right, body damage often causes unseen issues that make it age faster.

      Like

      • Sweetie Pie permalink
        2013-09-19T07:43:15+00:00 07:43

        I’m already at 242,000 + kms. I don’t have the money to buy one right now, due to the renovations I have to reimburse on top of the mortgage I’m locked into….. The car will be 10 years old this February, so I should hit the 300,000 kms before I buy anything else. It looked in great shape before the accident. :( I plan a new mortgage strategy in 2 years, which should allow me to get a car. I don’t need anything big, and another corolla would be welcome, but doesn’t there come a point in life where you get what you want and not what you need? Or does that only happen just 2 days before you die, if you’re lucky?

        Like

      • 2013-09-19T09:37:11+00:00 09:37

        Mmmm… the universe always provides what you need, even if it’s not what you want. ;-) So obviously you don’t need a car, because your trusty Corolla will keep soldiering along until it’s not needed anymore.

        Like

Comments are closed.