Skip to content

Freecycle people are classier than Craigslist people

2013-06-13T07:49:49+00:00

One of my hobbies is dealing in used material. One of the conservational steps that everyone can take is to buy and use “pre-owned” material, whether it’s clothes or electronics or cars or weapons or houses.

Trafficking in pre-owned material usually involves dealing with garage sales, thrift stores, pawn shops, E-Bay, Amazon, Craigslist and Freecycle.

Craigslist has taken a beating to its reputation in recent years, with ads to buy or sell people, sex, murder-for-hire, and ads designed to lure people into robberies, slavery, rape or murder. One problem that keeps recurring with Craigslist is that someone places an ad, and a buyer shows up with the intent to rob the seller. This means that I don’t deal with Craigslist people without at least one weapon handy, and perhaps an assistant to back me up.

Another problem with Craigslist people is that most of them just want something for free. So they try to talk you down on the price, and then they get huffy when you won’t go as low as they like. Some of them also just want to chat. They’re lonely. They have no intention of buying, but they just show up to have a conversation.

(I once knew a woman who actually answered personal ads from men on Craigslist. Then she complained about the low quality of those men, because they often stuck her with the bill for their date. I was surprised that she was surprised at their behavior. If they won’t pay for a decent dating service, and they prefer to advertise on a free site like Craigslist, then they’re too cheap to pay for the date. What’s the mystery?)

I’m not a conversationalist. I don’t want to just have a chat, I want to get rid of stuff I don’t need. I don’t appreciate robbery attempts, and I resent people who want something for nothing, unless that was my original offer to begin with. So I won’t deal with Craigslist people anymore.

Freecycle people, on the other hand, are uniformly nice, polite, and appreciative. If they want something you have, they’re happy to take what you’re offering. If you want something they have, they’re kind enough to show it to you and answer questions about it, and they’re happy to be getting rid of it. I’ve never had a bad experience with Freecycle people. And Freecycle is a great way to get rid of things that you can’t easily sell, donate, or trash, like glass doors, mirrors, chemicals or explosives. There’s always someone who needs what you have, and they’re happy to get it for free.

Freecycle people are classier than Craigslist people.

2 Comments
  1. 2013-06-13T10:22:56+00:00 10:22

    We used to have a print booklet that came out every Friday called the Pennysaver, where people would advertise what they had to sell. When I was a teenager, it was *the* way to get rid of stuff. We never had a bad experience and were always able to get rid of stuff that way. The Internet doesn’t always improve things.

    Like

    • 2013-06-14T01:28:30+00:00 01:28

      I miss those local broadsheets. They were one of the things that bound communities together.

      Like

Comments are closed.