Skip to content

I want to save them all

2013-05-21T21:21:33+00:00

In between television shows about death and dying, the evil programming people at Chiller TV keep running commercials for the American Society for Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (ASPCA). They do this because they know that their viewers can be quite sentimental, despite said viewers’ fascination with death.

I try to avoid watching those ASPCA commercials, because they all feature sad-eyed dogs and cats in cages, with tear-jerker captions such as “I’ve lived all my life in a cage,” or “I have nothing left but hope.” It makes me sad, because I want to save them all, but I can’t save any of them.

I feel the same way when I see disaster victims on television, or when I meet sad people in the course of my daily life. Everyone has their pain, their cup of tears that they carry around with them. For some reason, they are more likely to spill their cup in my presence. Or maybe I’m just more attuned to their pain than one would expect.

I want to save them all, but I can’t save any of them.

One Comment
  1. 2013-05-21T22:35:08+00:00 22:35

    I get the same feelings … and I have three rescue pups because of it … so while I can’t help everyone, I can make a difference in one life (or in my case, three!) and sometimes at the end of the day, that is what matters. Reading your post yesterday about the cat you and your lovely wife found … I know you have that same ‘dis’ ease …

    Like

Comments are closed.