Skip to content

On “vacation” week of April 8

2013-04-04T06:15:24+00:00

As my workweek draws to a close (I work short weeks, very long days), I am looking forward to not traveling next week. It’s cold in the north. The more time I spend here, the more I miss being in the south. If I was in the south all the time, I would be too hot, and I would want to be north. I try to be happy wherever I am, but there’s always a part of me that wants to be somewhere else. Perhaps that’s what drives explorers.

Next week I will be on “vacation.” We rarely go on vacation, perhaps once a decade. The rest of the time, “vacation” means staying home and working on the house and the yard. This time we will be cutting down a wide swath of the jungle around the house, to make more of a firebreak. Most people think fire is bad for the ecosystem, but it’s an integral part of the ecosystem, cleaning out deadwood and helping some plants fertilize and propagate. Without fire, the dead underbrush gets so thick over time that when it does ignite, it’s catastrophic. Hence the need for our firebreak.

We’ll also be painting, trimming, and helping out the contractors with the renovation of the west wing of the house. Hopefully it will be done by the end of April, when guests arrive. But if it’s not, the guests will see our house as a mess, which they have seen before, so it doesn’t matter.

I have a lot of work to do on my “vacation.” Back the week of April 15. Have a lovely week.

Comments are closed.