Skip to content

“Central Services/The Office,” Michael Kamen

2013-03-25T19:49:53+00:00

I didn’t like Pixar’s “Wall-E” (2008) when I first saw it. Visually lovely, it somehow seemed soulless. I think what bothered me the most was the extremely limited vocabulary of the main characters. They merely say each other’s names with an infinite variety of inflection. Sure, that’s creative, but I’m dialogue-focused. When the gunfire stops, someone needs to say something meaningful. Doesn’t really happen in “Wall-E.”

But one of the trailers which aired on television featured a strangely familiar piece of music, at :40 in this clip. It’s bothered me for years… I knew I’d heard it somewhere before.

Today I finally looked it up. This is the music itself, at :20. It was written by Michael Kamen for  “Brazil” (1985), a film by Monty Python alum Terry Gilliam.

This is what the music looked like in the film.

Typical Gilliam. I like “Twelve Monkeys” (1995) much better than “Brazil.” “Brazil” infuriated me at the end, when it becomes clear that the happy ending is all in his mind. I like upbeat films. Life is depressing enough without emulating it in cinema.

Upbeat Exhibit A: “Follow the Fleet” (1936).

Comments are closed.