Skip to content

“Help me understand” means “I want a different answer”

2013-03-12T15:08:40+00:00

I’m working with a person who wants what she wants, when she wants it, and doesn’t want to hear anything but “yes.” So if she hears something other than “yes,” she sighs and says:

“Help me understand why ______.”

So you have to go through the explanation again. And again. It’s kind of like being quizzed by the police. They make you repeat your story over and over, hoping to catch you in inconsistencies or lies.

I like email. I can just copy/paste my previous answer into my new message. And I can copy her superior so her superior already knows about it, before she goes rushing off to complain about my answer, which was an answer she didn’t like.

I don’t care. I’m a consultant. I can leave at any time.

If I supply answers she doesn’t like, often enough, then perhaps I will leave sooner than later.

 

2 Comments
  1. Sweetie Pie permalink
    2013-03-14T07:05:56+00:00 07:05

    I like analogies… Have you tried those? Just a thought…

    Like

    • 2013-03-18T20:37:13+00:00 20:37

      You mean like, “Since I have to keep explaining this to you, you’re as dumb as a box of rocks”? Like that? I bet that WOULD work. ;-)

      Like

Comments are closed.