Skip to content

The trouble with being scintillating

2013-01-22T15:32:11+00:00

I was at a party the other night with a bunch of British and Canadian expatriates. Educated Brits expect a higher standard of elocution and wit from their party guests, so I felt a bit like I was under scrutiny. So I overcompensated. I didn’t talk that much, but what I said had everyone at the table in stitches.

Perhaps I wasn’t that funny. Maybe they were just drunk. Brits can certainly get bladdered when they’ve a mind to.

Anyway, I made an impression, because now one of them has put me on his email list. Now I get chain letters from him every day. Granted, since he’s a Brit, they’re better-quality chain letters, but still.

I have spent quite a lot of my time on this planet making sure that I’m not noticed. Getting on someone’s chain letter list is the punishment I get for being scintillating at a party.

2 Comments
  1. Sweetie Pie permalink
    2013-01-23T14:49:52+00:00 14:49

    Filter him out…

    Like

    • 2013-01-23T16:26:07+00:00 16:26

      Right you are. I’ll add him to my “Delete upon receipt” rule alongside all my relatives’ names.

      Like

Comments are closed.