Skip to content

Not going to vlog, either

2013-01-15T22:05:05+00:00

USA Today, in a desperate attempt to seem relevant, has taken to printing video URLs on the back page of the Life section, just underneath the national television schedule.

Some of these URLs are video blogs, or vlogs, where exhibitionists have a one-sided conversation with a camera, and then post the results online. I’ve seen a few vlogs. Almost all of them make me ache with sympathy for the author. Poor things, they’re so lonely that they’ll talk to a machine in the hopes that someone will notice them. It’s almost like they’re calling random voicemails and pouring out their hearts to the machine, which dutifully records it all without hearing it or understanding it. Or they’re writing little notes on the backs of photographs of themselves, and they’re jamming them in the cracks of the giant wailing wall that is the Internet.

Internet technology gives vloggers the ability to be heard by more people, but the result is more nakedly, soul-baringly lonely. One vlogger I know wound up in a mental hospital recently. I think her vlogs were more of a cry for help, a symptom of her impending collapse. Is that true of all vloggers? I don’t know. I can’t steel myself to watch enough vlogs to draw a conclusion.

Then again, I suppose one could think of vlogging as more “performance art.” That puts a more positive spin on it.

I think ultimately, vlogs are a nice creative outlet for people who want to communicate, who want to be seen and noticed, but who can’t write.

I’m not about to vlog. Ever.

One Comment
  1. 2013-01-16T13:42:11+00:00 13:42

    Me either. I don’t want to go crazy.

    Like

Comments are closed.