Skip to content

A safer tool

2012-10-21T17:50:15+00:00

We took a friend to a gun show to help her find a better self-defense tool than the one she had. All she had was a little 1920s-era .22 pocket pistol that her late husband left her. That’s fine for play, but not very safe or reliable for regular carry. Plus, she had a terrible time hitting anything with it. I tested it – the problem was her, not the gun. I’m not a very good instructor, though. I recommended that she get some professional instruction. But even though I’m not having much luck at helping her improve her aim, at least I could help her pick a more reliable weapon.

So we went to the gun show, and she looked at mostly revolvers, until she finally found a little Smith & Wesson 642 that she liked, with prettily-carved grips. She didn’t get the best price on it, but it was a reasonable price, and she was happy with it. I helped her find some practice ammunition, and some special Hornady ZombieMax hollowpoint ammunition (I’m not kidding, zombies are big business, and the ammunition manufacturers are taking advantage of the zombie craze in popular culture).

I’ll take her to the range next weekend and we’ll practice. We’ll see if I can’t help her improve her aim. But at least when she needs the weapon to go bang, she can be assured that it will (unlike her ancient .22 pistol).

We also saw some hilarious t-shirts. I would have bought one, but they were mostly for women.

5 Comments
  1. 2012-10-22T13:37:20+00:00 13:37

    Did you see Cowboys & Aliens? When it really counts, she would probably aim just fine. ;-)

    Like

    • 2012-10-22T17:48:07+00:00 17:48

      Actually I did not see it, I heard it stunk. But I will check it out. The premise looked interesting, but reviews were bad. Then again, I have learned that if the reviewers like it, I will hate it, and vice versa. Ergo, I’m sure I will love C&A.

      Like

      • 2012-10-23T12:38:08+00:00 12:38

        It was not one of our favorites, but I love aliens in general. Plus, it was free (ignoring the fact that I pay for HBO).

        Like

  2. 2012-10-21T18:09:33+00:00 18:09

    my ‘sometimes better half’ works for Cabelas and says that the Zombie rounds of ammo that they carry sell out frequently — it’s a pretty popular gag gift as well as something to get the hunter that has ‘everything’ he says … it makes as much sense to me as the breast cancer ‘pink’ ammo made … yeah, not at all …

    Like

    • 2012-10-23T08:45:13+00:00 08:45

      Yes, silly marketeers… everyone knows that flamethrowers work best on zombies, not bullets.

      Like

Comments are closed.