Skip to content

Antisocial media

2012-08-23T07:16:04+00:00

I read a newspaper article ( to which I am too lazy to attempt to link, using my cumbersome phone) which suggested that if a man is NOT participating in social media, that means that businesses should not hire him, women should not date him, and he should be regarded with suspicion as a possible terrorist.

Really.

I had to laugh. It was such a cliquish, provincial attitude to display, that if I were the author of that article, I would hang my heads in shame.

By now, if you don’t know that “social media” exists mainly for businesses to mine your personal data for the purposes of selling it to people who in turn want to sell you something, then you’re the perfect subject for “social media.” Stay right where you are. And please have your credit card handy.

I stopped participating in “social media” because of the security risks. Most Facebook users I know have had their emails hacked. Some have been the victims of credit card fraud. I have read of many instances of assault, burglary, robberies and even murders which were a direct result of Facebook activity. I decided it wasn’t a good idea to put myself and my family at risk. So I stopped participating in all forms of it, except for anonymous blogging.

I quit because “social media” is dangerous. So that’s why I think it’s amusing that someone would hold (and dare to speak) an opinion that people who avoid “social media” are dangerous. It’s ludicrous.

But if someone fears me because I don’t participate in “social media,” that’s fine with me. There are other, better reasons that they should fear me, but it doesn’t matter. I’m an “end justifies the means” kind of alien.

Comments are closed.