Skip to content

Listening

2012-07-17T20:53:39+00:00

This week I am planning part of an implementation for the State of ____ in the northeastern part of the country. Lovely countryside, nice people, incredibly stupid and corrupt business processes. That’s what the tax dollars of the poor, benighted citizens of ____ are going toward. This place is overdue for a tax revolt. But it’s their own problem, and if they don’t care enough to revolt, then I’m not going to encourage them. I’m just thankful that I’m not an employee of a terrestrial state, because being a government employee on this planet is an intellect-rotting, ethics-corroding, soul-destroying “occupation.” When someone like Dear Leader defends government workers’ exorbitant salaries and benefits by claiming that they are “highly skilled” and therefore deserve higher pay, don’t believe them. Their “skills” consist of their intimate knowledge of the byzantine work rules, convoluted business processes, and ridiculously contradictive policies which they themselves created to make more work for themselves, and the ability to reward themselves more handsomely (at the taxpayers’ expense) for doing it. How much chaos is there when a government shuts down when the funds run out? Rarely is there any chaos. Because all those government “services,” and all that busy-work that government workers create for themselves, really isn’t necessary. Life goes on, with or without them, and the “services” they provide don’t really help anyone but the lowest common denominator of society, who, when those government “services” are no longer available, will simply drift away and do for themselves what they would much rather have other people doing for them.

Ahem.

I’m holding meetings with various personnel to gather information. The Peter Principle is in force here as much as anywhere. I get the best information from the people in the trenches. Their leaders, and their leaders’ leaders, are progressively less-informed and more consumed with trivial concerns, yet I am obligated to interview them so that the respect for the chain of command is observed. Perhaps one-fifth of the information I get from the leaders is useful, but I ask questions and listen to their wandering irrelevant stories anyway. I get paid the same, and it passes the time.

Next week I am on the opposite coast, teaching a crowd of people. I’m not looking forward to it. I don’t like crowds. Then again, maybe it will be fun. At least I’m busy. I would much rather be busy than bored.

 

 

 

Comments are closed.