Skip to content

Failing to follow my own advice

2012-07-15T21:42:18+00:00

I always tell people to back up their files in multiple places, because you never know when you’re going to need that backup. And I failed to do it myself. So I lost more than 100 gigabytes of data last week when I inadvertently accepted an automatic update, which proceeded to corrupt my computer’s operating system. It wouldn’t surprise me at all if Microsoft deliberately put out an update that they knew would wipe out tens of thousands of users of their older operating systems. That’s one way to force people onto Windows 7. Or onto Macs.

In some ways, the crash happened at a good time, because I’m shifting among several one- and two-week projects. I’d finished one and was about to start another. Meanwhile I was finishing up a third. I lost a bunch of data on the third project. THAT was annoying.

My angelic office manager shipped me another computer. I shipped the dead one back to her. She’ll take it in and try to have the data recovered. She’s optimistic. I hope she’s right. There’s quite a lot of data that I need back. Including the rest of the pictures from Point Reyes National Seashore.

Last week was not fun. This week should be better, and it will be better still if my office manager succeeds in getting some of my data back.

Meanwhile, I’m now backing my entire project directory up, every day. I’ve set it up to be automatic so I don’t have to worry about it. It won’t be getting backed up to my office regularly, simply because our network connections aren’t stable enough to permit the transmission of dozens of gigs of data every night successfully. But at least I’ll have it backed up somewhere.

One Comment
  1. 2012-07-17T01:24:29+00:00 01:24

    Computers fall into two categories: Those that have already gone kablooey, and those that are going to. At least with that computer you are no longer wondering when it will cross that threshold. (Paltry silver lining, I concede.)

    They will be our downfall as a species. I am utterly convinced of that.

    Like

Comments are closed.