Skip to content

Not enough hours in the day

2012-05-22T21:04:09+00:00

Every time I start something, I get pulled off into something else. Bug-fixing, writing contract estimates, doing webinars and sales calls. I’m not making progress on this week’s goals, which is worrisome because I’m billing for them. On the upside, I completed a huge billable goal from last week so that makes me happy, as well as making the client happy.

Not enough hours in the day.

Meanwhile, I saw that SpaceX got their rocket off the ground successfully. Now the control of human space travel is moving out of the cold dead hands of government, back into the private sector where it belongs. It should be very exciting for you. Private industry is properly motivated to make space travel workable and safe, and to keep going into space, whereas government lacks the motivation and the budget. The efforts of individuals and corporations are the only way your progeny will escape this planet before the next asteroid impact wipes out the current civilization (if we can call it “civilization” . . . maybe “infestation” would be a better term).

I also saw a commercial for another horror film, “Chernobyl Diaries.” It looks very amusing. “Is it safe?” asks a character before venturing into the radioactive wasteland of the town of Pripyat and its surroundings. Of course it’s not safe, that’s a stupid question. But then it wouldn’t be much of a horror movie if it was.

One Comment
  1. amlr permalink
    2012-05-22T21:33:25+00:00 21:33

    Yeah not enough hours for me too Marvin :).
    We were very lucky, we left Europe 6 months before the Chernobyl disaster.
    Anna

    Like

Comments are closed.