Skip to content

Staying “home” this weekend

2012-05-20T00:15:29+00:00

I’m spending the weekend in Huntington Beach (Los Angeles), since it’s too far to go home when I’ll only be there for perhaps 18 hours.

Normally if I stay somewhere for the weekend, I go exploring and I take photographs. But I’ve already been everywhere here, in the many times I’ve come here over the decades. Hollywood. Rodeo Drive. Disneyland. La Brea Tar Pits. Grauman’s Chinese Theatre. The Hollywood Walk of Fame. Sunset Boulevard. 34th and Vine. The Queen Mary. Whale-watching off Long Beach. The San Diego Zoo. And further afield, Las Vegas, Death Valley, blah blah blah. Joshua Tree National Park might be fun, but it’s just more desert. I’ve lived in the desert. I’ve seen enough of that.

The only place nearby that might be interesting is Laurel Canyon Boulevard, where all the legendary rock stars live(d). Eh, it’s a road with big houses. Yes, the International Surfing Museum is here, don’t care. Yes, the LA Lakers are playing basketball, definitely don’t care. Oooh, there’s the Museum of Death over in Hollywood. Hmm. No, it seems a bit beyond the pale. So to speak. And I hate driving in Hollywood. Even the roads in bankrupt Detroit are maintained better than in Hollywood.  

The problem is that driving in Los Angeles is irritating, and it takes a long time to get anywhere. Even moderate distances of 100 km become much more daunting in the sprawling Los Angeles metroplex, because of the sheer amount of traffic and people. Every time I’m driving here, I’m thinking of the first minute of “Terminator 2,” with the throngs of cars glittering in the hot California sun, and then they become a wasteland of burned-out metal, sitting silently in the everlasting post-nuclear-holocaust night. It makes my skin crawl.

I’m staying “home” and working. I’ve got plenty of work to do. Though I don’t seem to be doing a lot of it.

One Comment
  1. 2012-05-23T01:46:14+00:00 01:46

    How can they fix our roads when there’s never cars on them?

    Joshua Tree’s worth the drive.

    Like

Comments are closed.