Skip to content

Sleepless in Miami

2012-05-03T01:48:15+00:00

I had too much work to do, so I pulled as close to an all-nighter as I get. I’m on my second wind. If I tried, I could stay awake all night and through tomorrow. But I have a long drive tomorrow night, and by then, fatigue will catch up.

I remember an “X Files” episode called Sleepless, where a squad of Green Beret soldiers in Vietnam volunteered to undergo experimental brain surgery which eliminated their need for sleep. They were able to operate in the jungle 24 hours a day, and in one year they broke all military records for combat efficiency (kills).

How nice that would be, not to need any sleep. From people who don’t sleep, though, I hear that it’s very very boring. Especially that period from about 1 AM to 5 AM. Absolutely dreadfully dull, that period of time is. You just sit and listen to the clock tick. It’s enough to drive one mad, they say.

Then there Anna Gut in Switzerland, an adherent of breatharianism, who died recently of starvation because she thought she could survive by merely absorbing light. That’s mad. That’s madness on the order of Scientology, just less organized or well-funded.

A bit of sleeplessness doesn’t seem so bad now.

5 Comments
  1. 2012-05-04T10:55:12+00:00 10:55

    I missed that episode of the X-Files. I might have to find it online.

    Sleep is my favorite activity. I try not to miss it.

    Like

    • 2012-05-04T22:35:57+00:00 22:35

      My favorite episode is “Soft Light,” where Tony Shaloub’s shadow could kill people. That creepy noise that the government’s testing machines made at the end of the episode is still in my head, all those years later.

      Like

  2. 2012-05-03T03:13:04+00:00 03:13

    Oh, I was also going to mention my memories of lack of sleep. I remember coming home from a sleep over party when I was young, and when I finally headed for bed, my feet felt as though they were walking about an inch above the floor … after only one night’s sleep missed. Sheesh!
    And I recall thinking that a microscope in a science lab was a West Highland White terrier was a couple of seconds once when was ill and having trouble sleeping. I seem to be prone to hallucinations when sleep is in short supply. No wonder people do crazy things (shooting rampages and the like) after a shortage of sleep. The world looks very strange through a sleep-deprived mind.

    I like my sleep. However, I wouldn’t mind the extra writing time if I could live a normal life without it …

    Like

  3. 2012-05-03T03:04:22+00:00 03:04

    Horrified shudder when I am reminded that Scientology exists … My biggest wish is that they would re-name their religion so that it no longer suggests a link to Science. There is no link to science. Nothing whatsoever.
    Breatharianism? Wow. That’s dedication to stick it out even as your body fails around you. Now I have a name for something I have been considering for one of my characters, though (o:

    Like

Comments are closed.