Skip to content

A sleepless study, part 2

2012-05-02T22:23:14+00:00

The sleep study results came back early. The nurse from the doctor’s office called me to discuss the results, which we did. For about 40 seconds.

“You have mild sleep apnea,” she said. I knew that already. I think I told them that.

“And what should I do about it?” I asked. I figured she might say, “get a Continuous Positive Airway Pressure (CPAP) machine.” You can only get those with a prescription, which can only be obtained after a sleep study. Hence the sleep study. I wasn’t keen on the idea of a CPAP machine, but if it makes my darling wife happy, then fine. There are worse things. Like leeches. Though leeches aren’t prescribed much anymore, and very rarely for sleep apnea.

“Exercise more and lose weight,” said the nurse.

“Okay,” I said. I already knew that, too.

I thanked her and hung up, wondering why I bother dealing with the medical profession. I think I only do it for the entertainment value. That, and because I don’t like operating on myself.

6 Comments
  1. 2012-05-07T03:22:26+00:00 03:22

    Welcome to Adventures In CPAPland…

    It did work for me but my apnea has worsened. So they jacked up the pressure from 10 to 18. Great. That jump in pressure was waking me up and my ears would ring after a while. Now it’s down to 15 and over time they plan to raise it gradually — which seems what they should have done in the first place.

    BTW, did you know that you don’t have to wait for the place where you buy your CPAP to adjust the pressure? It seems you can Google a copy of the manual they don’t give to patients, the one they remove it from the packaging. Not to say that someone I know got fed up waiting for the pressure to be lowered and did it itself because the local provider has cut back its staff and its hard to get an appointment for have the machine adjusted. After all, adjusting the pressure on your own — Danger, Will Robinson! That’s like self-medicating yourself. After all, doctors and medical technicians know best. So suffer and don’t void that warranty.

    Like

  2. 2012-05-04T10:52:51+00:00 10:52

    I had a sleep study done. While my O2 levels dropped during my sleep, it wasn’t enough to be categorized as apnea. It was all attributed to my allergies. Which is what I told my GP and what I’ve been telling my husband for years. He on the other hand, has a CPAP. So really, he can’t even hear me snore too often.

    Like

  3. 2012-05-03T03:08:37+00:00 03:08

    I often wonder how much better one of those machines are, though. They’re pretty noisy aren’t they?

    I think “Exercise and lose weight” is the standard mantra of the health profession these days .. and fair enough, I suppose. Easier said than done for many, though.

    Like

  4. 2012-05-02T23:29:14+00:00 23:29

    Hmmmm…. that seems like a bit of a waste of time. though maybe it’s reassuring for your wife to know the medical profession considers your sleep apnea “mild”

    Like

  5. 2012-05-02T23:27:40+00:00 23:27

    I would take a

    Like

Comments are closed.