Skip to content

The Ting Tings, “Hang It Up”

2012-04-25T14:49:22+00:00

I keep returning to bands like The Ting Tings, Cake, MC 900 Foot Jesus, and so on, who speak their lyrics or who recite in a monotone against a bouncy melodic beat. Rap doesn’t interest me, nor does performance art like Henry Rollins. I only like a certain type of vocal-versus-melody. Vocal artistry isn’t that important to me, though I can certainly appreciate it in bands like Yes or Rush or Heart or Led Zeppelin.

The Ting Tings’ “Hang It Up” is an example. Bouncy and singable, though there is no real vocal melody.

2 Comments
  1. 2012-04-28T08:24:06+00:00 08:24

    I like that type of music as well. Cake back in the 90s was “it” for me. I also like The Ting Tings other song, “That’s Not My Name”. I think that’s what it’s called. You probably blogged it at one time or another.

    Like

Comments are closed.