Skip to content

“Enjoy The Silence” x 4

2012-04-20T09:27:32+00:00

First, there was the original “Enjoy The Silence,” from Depeche Mode’s 1990 “Violator” album. Not the best song on the album (that would be “World In My Eyes,”) but it got a lot of airplay.

I didn’t think about it for a long time until I bought darling wife Susan Boyle’s second album. Boyle does a cover of it which makes my brains hurt. Ow ow ow. She gets points for her lovely dreamy vocal styling, but still, ow.

I just got The Ting Tings’ new album, and noticed on YouTube that they did a cover of “Enjoy The Silence.” Not bad, especially the reference to Joy Division’s “Love Will Tear Us Apart” at the end. Like Susan Boyle’s version, though, the song has had all the energy sucked out of it.

Then I noticed that The Brains had also done a cover. Much better. Almost gets the saccharine Susan Boyle taste out of my mouths, replacing it with a sharp wooden stake.

2 Comments
  1. 2012-04-24T18:10:00+00:00 18:10

    I’m good with with Depeche Mode version, thanks.

    Like

  2. 2012-04-23T00:20:38+00:00 00:20

    Awesome. The Brains’ version is half the length of the original, and you can hear how! There are so many versions of this song. Clearly a favourite with many,

    Like

Comments are closed.